Largest Bitcoin addresses

The largest Bitcoin addresses are the individual Bitcoin addresses with the greatest confirmed on-chain balances at a stated block. Such a list is sometimes called a Bitcoin rich list, but it ranks addresses rather than people, companies, wallets, controllers, or beneficial owners.
The snapshot below was observed at Bitcoin block 964,405 on 28 August 2026. Balances and ranks can change after later blocks. Candidate membership was checked against a public top-address index, and every displayed balance was cross-checked from confirmed funded and spent outputs through a second public explorer.[1][2]
Snapshot at block 964,405
The block hash was 00000000000000000001fe030746fb514695bf68718a48f115b9e971b8d4ac1c.[3] “No reviewed attribution found” means that the reviewed evidence does not support naming a controller or beneficial owner. “Research lead” records a provider label or analytical association that lacks direct disclosure or strong corroboration; it is not an ownership claim. Where BitcoinWiki has a dedicated address article, the full address links to it; the adjacent block-explorer link opens external on-chain data.
| Rank | Address | Confirmed balance (BTC) | Reviewed attribution |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 34xp4vRoCGJym3xR7yCVPFHoCNxv4Twseo Block explorer
|
248,597.59222608 | Documented historical association. Binance disclosed the address for December 2022 reserve-verification procedures; the disclosure does not prove present control or beneficial ownership.[4] |
| 2 | 3M219KR5vEneNb47ewrPfWyb5jQ2DjxRP6 Block explorer
|
214,225.45807066 | Documented historical association. The address appears in the same November 2022 Binance proof-of-reserves address list; the report does not establish present control or beneficial ownership.[4] |
| 3 | bc1ql49ydapnjafl5t2cp9zqpjwe6pdgmxy98859v2 Block explorer
|
140,849.98539108 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery labels bc1ql49… as Robinhood cold storage, while Tokenview explicitly marks the attribution “Robinhood Unconfirmed”. No primary Robinhood disclosure was found in this review.[5][6]
|
| 4 | bc1qgdjqv0av3q56jvd82tkdjpy7gdp9ut8tlqmgrpmv24sq90ecnvqqjwvw97 Block explorer
|
130,010.07902736 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery attributes bc1qgd… to Bitfinex cold storage using medium-confidence in-house cluster analysis and says that Bitfinex has not disclosed the address directly.[7]
|
| 5 | bc1qjasf9z3h7w3jspkhtgatgpyvvzgpa2wwd2lr0eh5tx44reyn2k7sfc27a4 Block explorer
|
96,932.40682710 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery attributes bc1qjas… to Tether's Bitcoin reserves using medium-confidence in-house analysis; the cited aggregate reserve reporting does not disclose this address.[8]
|
| 6 | bc1qazcm763858nkj2dj986etajv6wquslv8uxwczt Block explorer
|
94,643.48825519 | Documented on-chain association. Scorechain recorded a transfer of about 94,643 BTC to bc1qazcm… on 1 February 2022. The U.S. Department of Justice announced the court-authorized recovery of more than 94,000 BTC from the Bitfinex theft case one week later, but did not name the receiving address; the connection is therefore an on-chain research association, not an official address disclosure.[9][10]
|
| 7 | bc1qd4ysezhmypwty5dnw7c8nqy5h5nxg0xqsvaefd0qn5kq32vwnwqqgv4rzr Block explorer
|
91,850.11548600 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 8 | 1FeexV6bAHb8ybZjqQMjJrcCrHGW9sb6uF Block explorer
|
79,957.26868453 | Documented historical allegation. Litigation evidence associates the address with an alleged 2011 theft from Mt. Gox; the current controller is unknown.[11] |
| 9 | bc1q8yj0herd4r4yxszw3nkfvt53433thk0f5qst4g Block explorer
|
78,317.03655504 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 10 | 1Ay8vMC7R1UbyCCZRVULMV7iQpHSAbguJP Block explorer
|
73,770.70804290 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery labels the address as Upbit cold storage, but this review did not locate the underlying Upbit disclosure.[5] |
| 11 | bc1qa5wkgaew2dkv56kfvj49j0av5nml45x9ek9hz6 Block explorer
|
69,370.18458660 | Documented historical association. U.S. court filings connect approximately 69,370 BTC obtained from a Silk Road-linked source with a later transfer to bc1qa5wk…. The documents establish a seizure-related association, not necessarily current custody.[12][13]
|
| 12 | 3LYJfcfHPXYJreMsASk2jkn69LWEYKzexb Block explorer
|
68,200.00689471 | Documented historical association. Binance material published in 2019 named 3LYJ… as the Bitcoin reserve address backing BTCB. This describes the address's disclosed role at that time, not current beneficial ownership.[14]
|
| 13 | bc1q0ymzksy046tv4z88ts5nmu7s574umnwmdev3rt Block explorer
|
64,657.50683043 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery lists Kraken as a single-source attribution. No primary disclosure was found in this review.[5] |
| 14 | 3MgEAFWu1HKSnZ5ZsC8qf61ZW18xrP5pgd Block explorer
|
55,904.67079600 | Research lead — unconfirmed. ChainQuery labels the address as OKEx/OKX; no primary operator disclosure was found in this review.[5] |
| 15 | 1LdRcdxfbSnmCYYNdeYpUnztiYzVfBEQeC Block explorer
|
53,880.06663434 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 16 | 1AC4fMwgY8j9onSbXEWeH6Zan8QGMSdmtA Block explorer
|
51,830.40191776 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 17 | bc1qws342rlkhszh58rtn35zrw7w076puz83gkcufy Block explorer
|
46,870.00018016 | Research lead — speculative. ChainQuery lists Deribit/Coinbase Prime custody as a single-source attribution. No primary disclosure was found in this review.[5] |
| 18 | 1LruNZjwamWJXThX2Y8C2d47QqhAkkc5os Block explorer
|
44,000.08812264 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 19 | bc1q0j55cut9nd2c88tnnsfultdx696c8lt6n4n0su Block explorer
|
43,430.54692317 | No reviewed attribution found. |
| 20 | bc1q4j7fcl8zx5yl56j00nkqez9zf3f6ggqchwzzcs5hjxwqhsgxvavq3qfgpr Block explorer
|
42,460.94066867 | Research lead — speculative. ChainQuery lists Coincheck but flags the attribution as scale-implausible. That is insufficient evidence to name a controller.[5] |
How to interpret the list
A Bitcoin address identifies a spending condition recorded by the network. Its confirmed balance can be reproduced from the set of unspent transaction outputs assigned to it at a specified block. The ranking does not identify one “wallet” or one owner for each row.
Several distinctions matter:
- Address and wallet: a wallet can generate or control many addresses, while an address is one on-chain identifier.
- Control and beneficial ownership: the ability to satisfy a spending condition is not the same as legal or economic ownership.
- Custody: an exchange or other custodian may control an address while holding assets for many customers.
- Labels: explorer and analytics labels are research leads. A label alone is not proof of current control or ownership.
- Incoming dust: small unsolicited transfers can change an address's displayed balance without showing activity by its controller.
For these reasons, balances from several addresses should not be combined into a company or person's wealth without separate clustering, custody, and ownership evidence. The related Bitcoin billionaires topic concerns people and entities, not this address-level ranking.
Methodology and limitations
The candidate top 20 was taken from a current public ranking. For each candidate, the confirmed balance was calculated from the explorer's confirmed funded-output total minus its confirmed spent-output total. The rows were then sorted by that cross-checked balance. A separate ranking built from a Bitcoin Core dumptxoutset snapshot was consulted as a comparison, but its visible snapshot was dated 2 August 2026 and was not used as the current table.[5]
This method has limits:
- the table changes when later confirmed transactions alter balances;
- an address-level method neither discovers address clusters nor proves entity identity;
- provider outages, indexing lag, or interpretation differences can create discrepancies that require review;
- the list excludes no row merely because its controller is unknown;
- attribution is published only when separately reviewed evidence supports appropriately qualified wording.
The article is reviewed quarterly or after a material top-ten movement, a well-sourced attribution change, a methodology change, or a reported factual error. A review with no material reader-facing change does not require an article edit.
See also
References
- ↑ BitInfoCharts, “Bitcoin Rich List”, accessed 28 August 2026.
- ↑ Blockstream Esplora API documentation, address endpoint; snapshot cross-check performed 28 August 2026.
- ↑ Blockstream explorer, Bitcoin block 964,405, accessed 28 August 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 “Binance Proof of Reserve Report”, 7 December 2022, address list and scope of agreed-upon procedures.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 ChainQuery, “Rich List, Top 100 BTC Holders”, snapshot dated 2 August 2026; attribution labels and methodology.
- ↑ Tokenview address page for
bc1ql49…, accessed 29 August 2026; label shown as “Robinhood Unconfirmed”. - ↑ ChainQuery address page for
bc1qgd…, snapshot dated 2 August 2026; medium-confidence in-house cluster attribution. - ↑ ChainQuery address page for
bc1qjas…, snapshot dated 2 August 2026; medium-confidence in-house cluster attribution. - ↑ Scorechain, “Anatomy of a Crypto Hack”, July 2022, p. 17; records the 1 February 2022 transfer to
bc1qazcm…. - ↑ U.S. Department of Justice, “Two Arrested for Alleged Conspiracy to Launder $4.5 Billion in Stolen Cryptocurrency”, 8 February 2022; the release does not name the receiving address.
- ↑ Skeleton argument on behalf of defendants D2–D12, Tulip Trading Limited v Bitcoin Association for BSV and others, Claim No. BL-2021-000313, November 2023, p. 2 and note 1; this is party evidence rather than a finding of the address's controller.
- ↑ U.S. Department of Justice, forfeiture complaint concerning approximately 69,370 BTC linked to Silk Road, 5 November 2020, paras. 1–5 and 21–31.
- ↑ Battle Born Investments Company v United States, petition appendix, filed 25 April 2024, p. 91a; states that the seized bitcoin was transferred to
bc1qa5wk…. - ↑ Archived Binance material, “BTCB, a Bitcoin-Pegged Token on Binance Chain”, 17 June 2019; names
3LYJ…as the BTC reserve address for BTCB.